To obtain a Canadian driver's license, the applicant must be at least 17 years old and must have previously obtained a learner's permit. To obtain a restricted motor vehicle (RMV) license, the applicant must be at least 17 years old, must have completed a driver training course and must be able to follow simple directions under normal traffic conditions. The RMV license is required for a car or pickup truck weighing less than 3 tons or for a snowmobile
Under the Maine rules, the driver testing and instructing facility must be certified by the Board of Licensure. However, a driver training facility (e.g. a driving school) can establish its own certification.
If the facility is a driving school, the Maine Board of Licensure has the authority to conduct a background check to determine if the facility has valid certification for driver instruction and testing. According to the wording of the Maine statute, the Board may use \"any method to inspect and make a determination that such facility has the qualifications that it claims to have.\" If a driver training facility is sanitary, reputable, and free from organized crime influence, it may apply to the Maine Board of Licensure for certification. d2c66b5586